• Involved In A Florida Car Accident? Here Is What You Need To Know

    If you’ve had a car accident claim in the state of Florida, there are a couple of laws that you should be aware of. It’s important that victims know and understand these laws so that they can take steps to ensure their rights are upheld.

    Car Accident Liability Laws Florida

    Florida is a “no fault” state, this means that all accident victims must first seek compensation through their own insurance companies before trying to collect from other sources. This law applies to everyone, regardless of who is at fault for the car accident. If you have been injured, and are receiving push back from your insurance company, it may be time to consider accident lawyers to take on your case. They can help you navigate this system, and ensure that you get adequate compensation for your injuries and damages.

    Special Cases

    When it comes to car accident liability laws florida, there are some rare occasions when cases will be considered outside of the no fault law. If this is the case, injured parties can seek to file personal injury claims, or additional claims against the insurance company that represents the other driver. However, in most cases this is only applicable if the injured party has received a permanent disability, or significant impairment due to the accident.

    Insurance Laws

    Under Florida law, there are specific types of car insurance for different types of drivers. And due to the no fault law, all drivers must have insurance that covers payment for personal injury. These benefits help cover any medical expenses that might be accrued due to an accident, along with any non-medical expenses such as missed work, or hiring help while healing from an injury.


    The standard personal injury coverage must have at least a $10,000 minimum, this is in addition to a $10,000 property damage coverage. However, unlike many other states, Florida doesn’t require drivers to have insurance that covers bodily injury liability, a type of coverage that covers the cost of any other individuals who may be hurt in an accident.


    Limitations Of Car Accident Liability Laws Florida

    The statute of limitations is important to drivers wishing to file any accident claims. This stipulation limits the time that people have to file their claims pertaining to specific issues. If the time passes before anything is filed, you will lose the ability to collect the compensation you are due. When it comes to auto accidents involving property damage or personal injuries, the statue is typically about 4 years from the date of the incident.


    If you or someone you know has been involved in an auto accident in the state of Florida, it’s important to understand the laws and limitations to ensure that you receive fair compensation. Speaking with a lawyer can give you a better picture of what you are owed, while giving you extra help collecting from your insurance company.